Who Are The Biggest Title Winners in Snooker History?

Alex Curran
By Alex Curran
4 Min Read

With the snooker World Championship in full swing, now is a great time to look through the history books. We are now at the tournament’s quarter-final stage, and sportsbooks like the Novibet casino are already seeing an increase in betting action. Ronnie O’Sullivan is looking to take home his record 8th World Championship, but there is a lot of snooker to be played before that happens. Now, let’s look back. 

History and Tradition

Snooker is a cue sport that has been around for centuries, with records of the game being played as far back as the 16th century. Throughout its history, many of the world’s best players have managed to become world champions and have their names etched in snooker history. These players have amassed an impressive number of titles throughout their careers, and as a result, they have become some of the most successful and well-known players in the game’s history.

Topping the Charts

The two players who have won the most titles in snooker history are Stephen Hendry and Ronnie O’Sullivan. Stephen Hendry, a Scottish professional snooker player, is the most successful player in snooker history, having won seven World Championships, five UK Championships, six Masters, and one Grand Prix. Hendry also holds the record for the most consecutive ranking titles, winning five in a row from 1990-1994.

Ronnie O’Sullivan, an English professional snooker player, is the second most successful player in snooker history, with seven World Championships, seven UK Championships, seven Masters, and two Grand Prix titles. O’Sullivan also holds the record for the most maximum breaks in professional competition, with 14.

Other Succesful Players Through The Years

The other players who have won multiple titles throughout their careers include Joe Davis, Steve Davis, Mark Williams, John Higgins, and Dennis Taylor. Joe Davis holds the record for the most World Championship titles with 15, while Steve Davis won six World Championships, six UK Championships, three Masters, and one Grand Prix. Mark Williams has won three World Championships, two UK Championships, two Masters, and one Grand Prix, while John Higgins has won four World Championships, three UK Championships, four Masters, and one Grand Prix. Dennis Taylor is the only player to have won the World Championship outside of England, having won it in 1985.

Generations of Skill

Snooker is a game of skill and strategy, and these players have proven to be the best in the business, having won multiple titles and records throughout their careers. While Stephen Hendry and Ronnie O’Sullivan stand as the most successful players in snooker history, the other players mentioned above have also had impressive careers, with some of them even holding multiple titles at the same time.

Snooker is a thrilling game to watch, and these players have made sure that it remains as exciting as ever. With their skill and consistency, they have managed to become some of the most successful players in the history of the game and have set the bar for other players to follow.

Find Us on Socials

Share this Article